تسجيل الدخول

مختبر الصحة المكانية (GeoHealth Lab)

Saad_Map
مساحة كثافة النواة للعدد المتوقع لمطاعم الوجبات السريعة في الكويت (حجم الخلية 200 م)

مختبر الصحة المكانية لمعهد دسمان للسكري (DDI-GeoH) هو شراكة بين معهد دسمان للسكري (DDI) وجامعة كانبيرا (UC). وهدفه هو دعم البحوث السكانية في الكويت التي تستعين بعلم الأوبئة المكانية لفهم الأمراض المزمنة والوقاية منها.

DDI
مساحة كثافة النواة للعدد المتوقع لمطاعم الوجبات السريعة في الكويت (حجم الخلية 200 م)

يتيح مختبر الصحة المكانية في معهد دسمان للسكري (DDI-GeoH) توضيح العوامل البيئية والاجتماعية والطبيعية والفيزيائية التي يجب استهدافها من خلال الابتكارات على مستوى السياسات والممارسات، لتقليل عوامل الخطر وتكاليف العلاج الناشئة عن مرض السكري والسمنة ومتلازمة التمثيل الغذائي وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والسرطانات. يتضمن هذا العمل نمذجة جغرافية مكانية مع تحليلات استنتاجية متعددة المستويات لتقييم السمات البيئية، إلى جانب عوامل الخطر الفردية (النظام الغذائي، والنشاط البدني، والتدخين، والتدابير السريرية، والمؤشرات الحيوية ونتائج المرض)، حيث تختلف هذه العوامل مع مرور الوقت وتتغير استجابة للسياسات والصحة العامة والتدخلات القائمة على الممارسات. تُقدّم النمذجة التنبؤية المعلومات اللازمة لتصور المناطق المستهدفة ذات الأولوية العالية، وتوفر لأصحاب المصلحة أدوات لا غنى عنها لصنع القرارات المتعلقة بالتخطيط لسياسة الصحة العامة وتدخلات الممارسة.

أهداف مختبر الصحة المكانية في معهد دسمان للسكري (DDI-GeoH) هي:

  • توفير مورد يتمتع بالمرونة المناسبة لدعم مبادرات القطاعين العام والخاص التي تطبق التحليل الجغرافي المكاني للبيانات المتعلقة بالصحة والرعاية الصحية؛
  • تقديم مثال على التعاون المهمّ لتسهيل التحليل الجغرافي المكاني لبيانات الصحة العامة من أجل أبحاث الوقاية التي تشمل الوكالات الشريكة الداخلية والخارجية؛
  • دعم وتنسيق الخبرات الموجودة في التحليل الجغرافي المكاني متعدد التخصصات، والسياسة الصحية، والتخطيط الصحي، وتحليل الصحة البيئية، وعلم الأوبئة المكاني؛
  • تسهيل تطوير مناهج ومنهجيات جديدة لضمان استدامة تدخلات الصحة العامة والرعاية الصحية والطبية الفعالة.

أبحاثنا

يعمل موظفو مختبر GeoHealth على مجموعة من المشاريع البحثية المتعلقة بالصحة مع زملائهم هنا في الكويت وأستراليا.

مشاريع البحث الحالية

السكري والسمنة

تعكس الأدبيات الدولية الارتباطات المتسقة بين السمنة ومرض السكري من النوع الثاني والبيئة المبنية. ومع ذلك، يجري هذا البحث بأغلبيته في أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا وأستراليا، ويتم إجراء حد أدنى من البحث حول البيئة المبنية والارتباطات بين النظام الغذائي والنشاط البدني في العالم العربي. يعتمد بحثنا في DDI-GeoH حلولًا مبتكرة تركّز على الوقاية والتدخل. فنركّز على استخدام نظم المعلومات الجغرافية (GIS) لتحديد أماكن تجمّع المرض، من خلال التحليل الإحصائي للعوامل الاجتماعية والديموغرافية والتغيرات المكانية في العوامل البيئية المادية والمبنية.

البيئات الغذائية

الجمعيات التعاونية (Co-ops)

الجمعيات التعاونية هي سمة أساسية لأسلوب الحياة في الكويت، فهي تضم حوالى 70% من تجارة التجزئة في الكويت وهي منفذ التسوق الرئيسي للمقيمين. يعتمد هذا البحث عدسة مكانية لتحليل بيانات شراء الطعام من الجمعيات التعاونية وتقييم فئات مشتريات الطعام المتعلقة بالسمات الديموغرافية والبيئة المبنية، بما في ذلك إمكانية الوصول إلى الجمعيات التعاونية. يوفر هذا النهج التحليلي الجغرافي المكاني القدرة على التحقيق في أنماط شراء الغذاء على مستوى الأسرة كعنصر حاسم في العلاقات بين العوامل البيئية الاجتماعية والعوامل البيئية والأمراض المزمنة، بما في ذلك مرض السكري.

«فود سويتش»

بالتعاون مع معهد جورج للصحة العالمية وجامعة كانبيرا، قام مختبر الصحة المكانية في معهد دسمان للسكري بإعداد التطبيق المحمول «فود سويتش» (FoodSwitch) للكويت. يتيح تطبيق «فود سويتش» (FoodSwitch) للمستهلكين إمكانية اتخاذ خيارات غذائية أفضل، من خلال توفير معلومات صحية بسيطة عن منتج ممسوح ضوئيًا واقتراح بدائل صحية. يطلب التطبيق أيضًا المساعدة من المستهلكين من خلال مشاركة صور المنتجات الجديدة. بالإضافة إلى هذا التطبيق، تم دمج قاعدة البيانات الغذائية الأساسية التي تحتفظ بهذه المعلومات الغذائية ضمن البنية التحتية لمختبر GeoHealth. وهي توفر نظامًا شاملاً للتوصيف الغذائي للمنتجات الغذائية في الكويت، ما يساعد بدوره في أبحاثنا ويدعو إلى تحسين البيئات الغذائية.

الأمراض المعدية

كوفيد-19

لا يزال وباء كوفيد-19 يثقل كاهل أنظمة الرعاية الصحية في جميع أنحاء العالم. أثبتت التكنولوجيات المكانية ألا غنى عنها لفهم بشكل سريع مصادر الأمراض المعدية الجديدة ودينامياتها وعلم الأوبئة، ولتوجيه جهود استجابة الصحة العامة في الوقت المناسب. يستخدم هذا البحث مسحًا يعتمد على نظم المعلومات الجغرافية للكشف عن المواقع المحتملة لانتشار كوفيد-١٩، وذلك بهدف المساعدة في توجيه جهود مسؤولي الصحة العامة وصانعي السياسات الرامية إلى السيطرة على انتشار الفيروس. تتم مشاركة النتائج مع أصحاب المصلحة الحاليين في مجال الصحة العامة، لتكون بمثابة أداة كشف عن مواقع انتشار كوفيد-19.



قم بتنزيل تطبيق «فود سويتش» (FoodSwitch)

اعرف المزيد عن كيف يساعدك هذا التطبيق على اتخاذ خيارات أفضل.


روابط مفيده

هل ترغب الاشتراك في قائمتنا البريدية؟

Login

GeoHealth Lab

Saad_Map
Kernel density surface of expected counts of fast-food restaurants in Kuwait (200m cell size)

The Dasman Diabetes Institute Geohealth Lab (DDI-GeoH) is a partnership between the Dasman Diabetes Institute (DDI) and the University of Canberra (UC) to support population research in Kuwait applying spatial epidemiology to understand and prevent chronic disease. 

DDI
Kernel density surface of expected counts of fast-food restaurants in Kuwait (200m cell size)

DDI-GeoH enables the elucidation of built, social, natural and physical environmental factors to be targeted by policy and practice-level innovations to reduce risk factors and treatment costs arising from diabetes, obesity, metabolic syndrome, cardiovascular diseases and cancers.  Such work involves geospatial modelling with inferential, multi-level analyses assessing environmental features together with individual risk factors (diet, physical activity, smoking, clinical measures, biomarkers and disease outcomes) as these vary over time and change in response to policy, and public health and practice-based intervention.  Predictive modelling informs the depiction of high-priority target areas and provides stakeholders indispensable decision-making tools for the planning of public health policy and practice interventions. 

The goals of DDI-GeoH are:

  • Provide a resource with appropriate flexibility in support of both public and private sector initiatives applying geospatial analysis of health and health care relevant data;
  • Exemplify a foremost collaborative effort to facilitate the geospatial analysis of public health data for prevention research involving internal and external partner agencies;
  • Support and co-ordinate existing expertise in trans-disciplinary geospatial analysis, health policy, health planning, environmental health analysis, and spatial epidemiology; and

Facilitate the development of new approaches and methodologies to sustain effective public health and health and medical care interventions.


Our Research

Staff associated with the GeoHealth Lab work on a range of health-related research projects with colleagues here in Kuwait and in Australia. 

Current Research Projects

Diabetes and Obesity

The international literature reflects consistent associations between obesity and Type 2 Diabetes with the built environment. However, the majority of this research is in North America, Europe, and Australia, with minimal research being conducted on the built environment and associations between diet and physical activity in the Arabian world. Our research at the DDI-GeoH adopts innovative solutions that focus on prevention and intervention. We focus on using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to detect disease clusters with statistical analysis of socio-demographic factors and spatial variations in built and physical environmental factors.

Food Environments

Cooperative Societies (Co-ops)

Co-ops are an integral feature of Kuwait’s lifestyle. They comprise some 70% of retail trade in Kuwait and are the main shopping outlet for residents. This research applies a spatial lens to analyze food purchase data from Co-ops and evaluate categories of food purchases concerning demographic features and the built environment, including accessibility to Co-ops. This geospatial analytic approach provides the capacity to investigate household-level food purchase patterns as a critical component of the relationships between social and built environmental factors and chronic diseases, including diabetes.

FoodSwitch

In collaboration with the George Institute for Global Health and the University of Canberra, DDI-GeoH set up the FoodSwitch Mobile application for Kuwait. The FoodSwitch mobile App empowers consumers to make better food choices by providing simple health information on a scanned product and suggesting healthier alternatives to ‘switch’ to. The App also asks consumers to help-out by crowd-sourced images on new products.   In addition to the App, the underlying food database holding this food information bank is integrated within the GeoHealth Laboratory infrastructure. It offers a comprehensive nutritional profiling system for food products in Kuwait, which, in turn, is assisting our research and helping to advocate for improved food environments.

Infectious Diseases

COVID-19

The COVID-19 pandemic continues to burden healthcare systems around the world.  Spatial technologies have proven to be indispensable for the timely understanding of new infectious disease sources, dynamics, epidemiology, and guiding the public health response efforts. This research utilizes a GIS-based anonymous population-based survey to detect potential COVID-19 clusters to help guide public health officials and policymakers in their efforts in controlling the spread. Findings are communicated with current public health stakeholders and serve as a detection tool for COVID-19 spatial clusters.



Download our FoodSwitch App

Learn more about how this App can help you make better choices.